“Ju need more Cultcha” and Resolutions I’ll Actually Keep

Standard

I hope errybody had a fun-filled New Year’s Eve; I know I did.  I could lie to you and say that my group of friends and I are ultra fabulous.  I could pretend that we all dressed up, and went to some rooftop bar littered with skyline scenes of Uptown Charlotte while we sipped on martinis and acted proper.    But I won’t, and we didn’t, and this ain’t that kind of blog 🙂

We went to Wild Wing Cafe, or Tha Wingy as we say,  and listened to live music from The Aristocrats.  We ate wings, had draft beer and pomegranate margaritas, photobombed as many pictures as we could because that’s just what we do, and played a game on this pay-by-the-hit machine that gauges how hard you punch.  I’m really competitive and I hit it hard enough that a guy near me said “OHHHHHHHHHHHHH!” when it was tallying my score.  I’m a boss, what can I say? All in heels and a $20 sequin mini skirt from JC Penny.

Here are some of my favorite photos for your viewing pleasure:

DSC_0577

Sing your heart out!

IMG_3183

A fan so adoring Dillon had to come offstage to jam with him.

IMG_3209

After the ball dropped, Happy New Year!

DSC_0584

Putting a little No Doubt on ’em

IMG_3194

I’m sorry but this picture is just too ridiculous not to share with you.

IMG_3198

Friends share.

DSC_0519

Guest spots from Brandon and Dan

DSC_0564

Drummin’ and singin’

IMG_3200-edit

My New Year’s kiss 9 years runnin’

So I mentioned before that my resolutions are kind of a backburner deal.  I don’t get too hyped up, I’m more concerned with the next gathering (Superbowl, hello!).  BUT this year I’m actually going to make and keep a couple of resolutions.  A few years ago I was sitting in a movie theater about to watch “Marley & Me” with my best friend and our boyfriends at the time.  Back then I didn’t get to see Jess much, and the times we had spent double dating were low in number.  The room was practically empty, it was just the four of us, another couple, and a mother out with her daughter and daughter’s friend.  The previews were rolling and that mother and two teen girls were talking so loud- but it’s no biggie.  Well then the movie started and they didn’t get any quieter.  The other couple actually got up and moved far away from the talkers but it didn’t seem to phase the three women.  I’ll preface this by saying…sometimes something unexplainable just comes over me.  I thought, “how RUDE?!”  They didn’t even care about how they were impacting anyone else.  They continued to talk, and as you know, the beginning of a movie can sometimes be pretty pivotal.  If you don’t get that first 5 minutes then you either miss a funny joke or the framework for the next two hours of your life.  Both are things I’m interested in.  Cue my temper.  I leaned forward and said “Could you please just SHUT. UP?!”  There may have been an explicative, but I don’t remember.  There was lots of giggling from the teens and the mother turned and told me “JUUUU need more CULTCHA!!!”

ME?! I need more culture?!  What’s this got to do with culture!?  I’m not a racist or a closed-minded person I don’t think.  So I didn’t know what she was trying to imply.

So I replied, “In my culture, we shut the hell up when we come to the movie theater!”  Oh, gah.  My face turned red, and D looked at me like I had lost my mind, and Matt was nervously laughing like I was inciting a riot.  Awesome, way to embarrass the friends!

So, the New Year’s Resolutions.  I’m indeed going to get more culture.  Maybe if I post my resolutions here, I can hold myself accountable.

1.  I’m going to attempt to be more cultured and try something new at least once a month.  Each month may not literally bring me a better sense of culture by typical definitions, but it will make me more self-aware and well-rounded. Besides, culture means something different to everyone and there are hints of culture in most anything.

For January, I’ve started this blog to document my foray into domesticity.  I’m also reading other blogs more now, so I’m learning about how other people live and function in all areas of the world.  I’ve kind of tapped into this whole other realm and I like it.  I’m also taking my first road trip by myself, EVER.  I feel like that’s a rite of passage in some way.  I don’t know how I’ve managed to have avoided a loner road trip.  I’m going to Nashville to visit my BFF to throw a little party for a friend 🙂

In February, I’m going to try sushi for the first time.  I think D and I are going to make a little trip south to Charlotte to visit some friends and eat at The Cowfish Sushi Burger Bar.   Sounds good?  I don’t know how authentic any of it is but you have to start somewhere.

http://www.thecowfish.com/

D “doesn’t like” sushi so that should be a good compromise.

2.  I’m going to do something for someone else each month, something charitable.  I wouldn’t consider buying appletinis for a bride-to-be at her bachelorette party to be “charitable” so I’ll have to give a little more thought to my January giving.  I feel like when you volunteer or give back you expose yourself to different kinds of people, different ways of living and so on and so forth.  And I’m ashamed to say it but a lot of the donating I do is centered around the holidays.  And that’s just not right.  I’ve been blessed beyond measure even if I don’t see it outright every day, I know I should be paying it forward all through the year.

I hope whatever you decide you want to achieve this year you are successful, go for yours!

One response »

Leave a Reply

