Making Chicken Wraps and History

Standard

So a few days ago I addressed the progress I was making on my New Year’s Resolutions.  April is still cruisin’ right on by and I’ve been trying new recipes in the kitchen.  And I have an update: the Crispy Southwest Chicken Wraps were so good!  Let me tell you though, I cannot make rice.  What the hell?  Who can’t make RICE?!  I tried to make rice unsupervised once before and it was disgusting.  And I tried again the other night.  Basically I figured out my problem: I ignore parts of the directions unintentionally.  My first attempt looked more like porridge- slushy, sloppy and crunchy on the inside.  Thankfully, D knows how to make rice.  So when he got home from work he corrected me on everything I was doing wrong, except for boiling water (that I can do on my own!).  But all in all:  PINTEREST WIN!  I made a few revisions so this recipe reflects that.

IMG_3758

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked rice, warm or at room temperature

1 cup cooked, shredded chicken seasoned with kosher salt and cracked black pepper

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 green onion, finely sliced (white and green parts)

1/2 red pepper, diced

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

juice of 1 lime

1/2 tablespoon chili powder

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

2 cups shredded cheese (I used a combination of pepperjack and sharp cheddar)

Sour cream

6 burrito-sized flour tortillas

Directions:

Mix rice together with chili powder, cumin and garlic powder. Mix the rice mixture with shredded chicken, diced peppers, black beans, cilantro, onions and lime juice. Sprinkle cheese over tortillas, leaving 1/2-inch border around edges, then arrange chicken and rice mixture down the center of each tortilla.  I dotted the cheese with sour cream dollops before adding the chicken/rice mixture.  It made it so great! Roll stuffed tortillas, leaving edges open.  Baste the rolled tortillas with olive oil and place seam-side down on a greased baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes or until golden at 350.  Serve warm!

But more exciting than a great new recipe is college football.  When I started as a freshman at Charlotte, I was missing the football experience a lot of new students want.  Little did I know, former and current Charlotte students were mounting a public push to bring their deep-rooted desire to field a football team into fruition.  It was a real movement of sorts happening right before my eyes.  The groundwork had been laid for a real difference to be made and for Charlotte as we knew it to be forever changed.  It was kind of cool, because it just felt like something bigger than one person was going on here.  And while I didn’t have the college kid football experience, maybe that’s okay.  It definitely seems like I’m getting something better in the end.  I have the satisfaction of knowing that no matter how big or small, I have had a part in this.  If you voted for tuition hikes, or marched to the SAC to receive news of football’s fate at our school, or helped recruit players, or donated to the AD, you’ve had a part in this and you should be proud.  It doesn’t even feel real at times, but it is and it’s amazing.

IMG_3769

IMG_3773

IMG_3767

Saturday was our first ever Spring Game.  We tailgated with our friends, we sat in our licensed lifetime seats, we cheered for our players, we even did the wave….and LIKED it.

IMG_3775

Cheerleaders threw commemorative footballs into the stands and our mascot, Norm, gave me my first picture EVER with him.

IMG_3783

That was 8 years in the making!

After the scrimmage was over, fans were allowed down on the field.  Kids were rolling around in the end zone, people stood in line for an hour to get autographs from our players,  alums that never thought this day would come stood in silence taking it all in.  It was a great day.  We’ve come a long way and its an awesome feeling to know that this is once in a lifetime stuff, and I got to be a part of history.

IMG_3781

My husbing.

IMG_3786

Front row. End zone. For life.

IMG_3797

So excited.

It’s a good day to be a Niner 🙂

IMG_3790

 

Leave a Reply

