Almost doesn’t count.

Standard

As a wife, you try new things all the time to keep your husband convinced he put a ring on the right girl, to show your mother that she taught you well, and to ensure your in-laws know you can take care of their boy.  And notice I said try, which means that shit does not work out all the time.  Almost does not count, and we all know it.  Or at least it feels that way.  When you put time and effort into a failed endeavor, you question your ability to be “wifely.”  Most days I think I’m doing alright, and other days its glaringly obvious I’m wrecking the joint.  The last thing a girl wants is to have all her wifely flaws pointed out.  Because we sure wish almost counted for something.   Thankfully, I’ve got a husband that would basically eat anything, a mom that never gets all up in my business unless requested, and a family-in-law that must think I’m doing alright since they’ve left D with me for almost 9 years now.  But not everyone is so lucky.  

Maybe you can’t make rice.  Maybe you don’t know how to use the weed eater.  Maybe you don’t keep house quite as nice as Marie Barone.  Maybe you thought you’d flex that green thumb of yours and you unknowingly planted all your bulbs upside down: rejoicing when they sprouted through the soil only to recant when someone told you that you were growing roots, not blooms.  Or maybe you got excited about a new recipe but had to make nine trips to the store for the ingredients you kept forgetting.  Maybe you’ve been the mom that could not soothe her crying baby come hell or high water…but 10 seconds in the arms of someone else was all your child needed to calm down.  Dangit.

You do not have it all together.  But don’t get discouraged…because we’re all just figuring it out.  All us new girls are just bumping along the way with frizzy hair, smeared make-up, and still in our pajamas because we haven’t managed to put on real clothes yet today.  Who cares?!  We’ve all had failures.  And those of us who haven’t…are liars.

When I moved into my first apartment, I really tried to cook.  I knew I could make my mom’s lasagna without issue.  I was boiling, and simmering, and mixing, and sauteing like a beast.  Then I realized I was missing a key ingredient.  I sent my roomie to the store and when she returned…I was back in the game.  I had already completed one layer of the dish so I added the missing ingredient and layered my concoction into a lasagna.  I put it in the oven to bake, threw the dish towel over my shoulder with the air of success, turned around to put dirty dishes in the sink and there it sat.  A colander full of drained noodles that never made it into the lasagna.  All that nonsense for a three noodle meat slop!?  I was embarrassed.  Our boyfriends were coming over and I ruined dinner without dinner even starting.  D still talks about my three noodle lasagna as if it’s an actual thing.  BUT I’m here to tell you that there is forward movement after failure, they make oven-ready noodles now, AND I have perfected my mom’s lasagna and dare I say…improved upon it.

You can do this.  Maybe not on the first try.  And maybe not looking like Giada De Laurentiis.  But you can do it your own way and that’s what counts.  So chin up, lady.  And if all else fails, just remember this lasagna doesn’t even need all the ingredients to be good! 🙂

DSC_0131

Please forgive the sad presentation.  This was frozen and thawed before the photo was taken!

My Mama’s Lasagna

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef

1 small diced onion

28 oz. diced tomatoes (with juices)

12 oz. tomato paste

16 oz. lasagna noodles

2 eggs

8 oz. shredded mozzarella cheese

16 oz. cottage cheese

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp cracked black pepper

Directions:

Brown beef, minced garlic and onion together until cooked.  Drain grease.  Added diced tomatoes, tomato paste, pepper, garlic powder and heat to a boil.  Let simmer for 30 minutes on low heat, stirring occasionally.  Mix eggs and cottage cheese together in a separate bowl.  Layer noodles, egg mixture, mozzarella cheese, and sauce until your dish is full.  Bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.  Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Have a great day yall!

hump-day-gif

See, it’s better already!

Leave a Reply

