I saw that on Pinterest (Vol. 2)

Standard

Did you see it on Pinterest?  Did you repin it?  Did you try it yet?

NOOOO, you didn’t try it yet because you binge-pin.  And there aren’t enough hours in the day to bake those miniature cheesecakes, work out until you look like a Greek goddess, decorate your dream home, and host a dinner party with handmade place cards and chandeliers hanging from the trees on a cool summer’s night.  Or maybe you did do all that and I’ll just have to hate you.  Keep it movin’ you heifer.

For the rest of us, I’ve documented two more of my pins and how they worked.

A few months ago, I begged D to let me paint a wall in chalkboard paint.  He was not a fan.  When he fights me on something decor-related, I typically resort to downplaying his opinion by shaking my head, scrunching my face in disagreement, and throwing my right hand in the air saying, “oh, you don’t know.”  Eventually, I convinced him.  Our friends write us messages when they come over and we write funny messages to each other from time to time, so I think we’ve both come to love it.  But I kinda love-hate it because chalkboard walls do not come clean!  You can scrub like Cinderella all you want, sister.  Chalk dust is like glitter.  You think it’s all gone, but it always resurfaces.  Since I like things to be super clean and presentable, I was getting desperate.  

This is my wall.  Do note that everything around the writings from my friends had already been cleaned (eek!):

DSC_0795

NOT clean by my standards, but that was done with just water.  This Pinterest method instructed to use a washcloth wet with water, then dipped in Coca-Cola.  Surprisingly, it is NOT sticky when it dries.  Here are three test spots:

DSC_0798

Much improved!  So I dove in and cleaned everything I could reach at 3AM without D’s help.

DSC_0799

I didn’t want to use all of his coke so I did just one pass through.  I would be homicidal if I found he had used the last of my Mountain Dew on some harebrained idea.  But that’s totally a Pin Win in my book, even with only one attempt.  So if you’re searching for a chalkboard cleaning, use Coca-Cola!

As you can imagine, 49er girls are looking for all sorts of ways to show their Niner Pride for the football games.  And I want my pride to show too, right down to my fingertips.  I love nail polish, but I’m not known for my steady hand so nail art can be a challenge.  I saw this pin that said you can paint a design on a plastic bag and let it dry, then simply peel it off, apply to a painted nail, and seal with a topcoat.  I wanted green hearts for Saturday’s game.  Here we go!

2013-09-06_14.28.28

I will say I had to keep adding coat after coat to get a uniform color and shape.  I had to let it dry overnight because I started this project too late in the evening.  The numbers didn’t work out, they were far too thin and fragile.  But the hearts did well!

2013-09-06_15.40.45

I’ve got nothing but love for the 49ers and this pin, so pin away girls….it WORKS!  If you like these posts, and want to see more like them, let me know in a comment.  If you’ve got a pin you want me to try, I could do that too.  Have a great week yall!  Talk soon!

5 responses »

  1. Kristen Watson Foley, I hope I’m half as awesome as you when I grow up. I most definitely binge-pin and I’ve got a closet full (and some) of craft supplies for projects I swear up and down that I’m going to do but have yet to complete. It never fails…I FINALLY pick a day to craft and I start by making a trip to the craft store. Of course while I’m there I have to look at EVERYTHING instead of picking up just the things I need (even though I already have more than enough to complete a project at home), because you never know when you’ll get a good deal on something. Well hours later I’ve got a cart full of supplies for all the projects I thought of while walking through the store and and not one of those things was the fully pom pons I needed or the bottle of glue needed to finish my original project. So I get home, drink some wine and there goes my day. I think it’s safe to say I’m a craft supply hoarder. :-\

Leave a Reply

