The Witching Hour

Standard

Now that I have come down from pre-Halloween anticipation and the subsequent post-Halloween candy coma, I can tell ya all about my Halloween festivities.  I hope you guys all had a great holiday with your friends and family!  After my family’s annual October barbeque and my friend’s chicken stew, it was time to do a little entertaining of my own.  So I set out on my merry way planning a little pumpkin carving night before Halloween.  I invited a small group of friends over, pulled the picnic table out of storage, set up our lawn furniture, and broke the fire pit out of its box for the night.  And of course we prepared the quintessential Autumn foods: chili, apple cider and s’mores.  What’s not to love?!

If I had been on my A-Game I would have remembered to take a picture of the chili before it all got eaten, but I didn’t.  So you’ll just have to take it what it is and trust that the recipe must be good.  I mean, come on, it all got eaten!  Here’s how to make it yourself.  And don’t forget to garnish it with cheddar, sour cream and Fritos.  We like to take it back grade school cafeteria style and make Frito Pie! Update: I made it again and there’s a picture!

DSC_0015The night was perfect.  I made everyone listen to the new Pearl Jam album (as I was anxiously anticipating my concert experience) while we carved pumpkins, and D lit the fire for us.  After we finished carving we sat around the fire sipping cider, listening to music and making s’mores.

photo 1

Not too shabby!  Afterward, we walked down to the cul-de-sac to see the Griswolds and all of their holiday stuff.  Their house is lit up like an orange beacon of hope, and I bet you can see it via satellite.  That’s the joke anyway.  They had the same staples: the corpse bride, spiders, rats, goblin babies, you know, the usual.  They added more tombstones to their graveyard and a handmade motion sensitive electric chair complete with a ghoulish victim.  And while I may not be able to compete with that, there’s no shame in my game.  I’m a little more subtle?  Besides, it’s only a competition if I’m winning.

DSC_0678

DSC_0680

That’s plenty of flare for my little yard if ya ask me!  I probably waste a lot of energy since most of my decorations are inside because they only get seen by a select few.  Here’s our dining table:

DSC_0620

DSC_0625

If you take a closer look you will see that a lot of my “potion bottles” were really inspired by a popular Pinterest pin.  Lots of people paint the inside of mason jars as flower vases and what not.  But have you ever really looked at a liquor bottle and noticed all the intricate lines and curves and decorative parts?  They are perfect for this project.  I got some really awesome bottles from a local antique mall.  I poured various paint colors into the bottles and shook it all around, making sure to cover all surfaces and remove excess paint.  I let them air dry.  I used this stuff last year, and I think the heat in the attic caused some of the paint to crack and peel.  Kind of a happy accident because it actually makes them look cooler.  I also went thrifting and found tons of old books to use as “spellbooks” if you will.  I got lucky, I found books with names like: Snakecharmer, The Damnation Game, Birthright, Superstitious, and The Day of Confession.  Pretty mundane in store, but totally creepy in this setting.

And our china cabinet:

DSC_0646

DSC_0653

I also use a lot of my “around the house” decor for Halloween.  Taking candles from around the house, cake stands, and various jars and platters make things look a little more authentic I think…and a little less hokey.

Our foyer:

DSC_0659

DSC_0669

And the cutest candy bowl ever?  Direct from Cracker Barrel!  You never know what you’ll find, or where.  Side note: that incredible ginger jar is from Home Goods for a steal!  So proud of that find.

On Halloween night, our friends dressed up and came over to help pass out candy to the trick-or-treaters.  I don’t think the boys care much about that, but they do it to appease us.  Or maybe just me, because I’m a little obsessed with passing out candy.  But the boys did have their night made when a teeny Darth Vader and a Ninja Turtle made their way to our door.  I took one for the team and let the boys handle that.  Those kids probably got a disproportionately larger amount of candy than the other children!  My night was made when one little princess told me, “Lady, your house smells good.”  She ALSO got a disproportionately larger amount of candy.  Be still my heart.  Housewife win!

Afterwards, we hit up one of our favorite downtown haunts for grown up fun.  Oddly enough, there weren’t very many people dressed up.  What’s up with that?  Where’s the holiday spirit?!  Oh well, we still had a great time celebrating with our friends.

DSC_0616

I’m a masquerade raven.

DSC_0611

I could post a lot of other “better” pictures, but this is who we REALLY are.  You are welcome.

???????????????????????????????

So Happy belated Halloween to you readers!  Hope you had fun!

Leave a Reply

