The Time is Now (Pt. 2)

Standard

So, my fellow 49ers, how do you feel looking back on our Inaugural Season?  It’s practically over, and we have no home games left this year.  I have a lot of mixed emotions.  I’m ecstatic but not even over the normal things like our stadium or our statistics.  I’m over the moon because it happened.  And then I feel a sense of loss because it’s over already.  I feel like I didn’t even have the chance to let it really sink in.  Maybe it never would have.  It’s still so unreal.  I had never experienced college football before August 2013, and I’ve learned a lot on the way.  College football isn’t like anything else I’ve ever known.  As 49ers, we’ve done a lot of things right but we’ve also got some work to do.

I love our niner pride.  It’s so awesome to see our flags fly high at the tailgate.  I enjoy the fellowship.  From the sharing of incredible tailgate spreads to the 1100 am toast, we got it right.  It’s nice to feel like you’ve got a bunch of new friends to enjoy the day with.  And it’s so inspiring to feel the emotion go through the crowd in front of the Normbulance as a new toast is delivered week after week.  I still laugh at the thought of the former 20 year old me… pretending to like Goldschlager.  Ironic, that now I must toast with it so much!

More than anything, I love our rowdy fans.  But dare I say, we aren’t rowdy enough when it counts.  Next season, stand up when we’re on defense and be quiet when we’re on offense!  At the beginning of the season…I did not know that.  I was just screaming my head off all the time: when I wanted a TD, when I wanted a good block, when I wanted lemonade, whatever.  Now, thanks to my friends and D, I know to be quiet when our team has the ball so they can concentrate on each other and getting their job done.  And remember, be respectful.  There was one point during a VERY close game that our fans were actually cheering when a member of the opposing team was injured.  And I had to drop my head in disappointment.  We’re better than that.  And we’re also better than leaving the game before the game is even over.  If you have the luxury of staying until the end, please do.  Your players, coaches, water boys, cheerleaders, dancers, announcers and other personnel deserve it.  Stay to the end, and let that be your thanks for a job well done, win or lose.  And current students, don’t take this moment for granted.  To you, maybe it’s just a game.  But I ask that you come to a tailgate, make new friends, and listen to the stories of those that really put their heart and soul into making this come to fruition.  It’s not just a game, it’s history.

I’ve made so many memories this season, I’m so thankful I could take part in all this madness.  I just wanted to share a few of my favorites from the past few months.

DSC_0044

Our first 49er Football Tailgate Toast

DSC_0122

The first player entrance of the season. The excitement was palpable.

DSC_0876

My friend Jason, delivering his toast with a demonstration from a crowd member.

DSC_0702

D giving a toast before the last home game.

DSC_0759

Maybe they’ll cheer in the 2014 season?

DSC_0159

Friends since 04. Now we’re all in the “old married folks” club.

IMG_4243

My rowmates!

DSC_1008

TD!

DSC_0925

Picks up!

DSC_0019

Me and D

I’m not so sure how you might feel.  Maybe you’re disappointed because it didn’t all turn out like you wanted or maybe you’re elated because it turned out better than you expected…but when push comes to shove I hope you’re focusing more on the reality of Charlotte 49ers football, for the rest of your life.  That feels pretty damn good.

Leave a Reply

