Pin this, not that.

Standard

Ok, Pinteresters!  I’ve tried a couple more pins and I’m gonna share one with you.  So around the beginning of 2013 I agreed to this Creative Pay it Forward pact that I’ve talked about a few times.  My former coworker was my 4th person and she loves a good scarf.  Being a scarf lovermyself, I could get down with this project.  A company called We are Owls makes tons of beautiful scarves.  For people like me, they’re a little unattainable, but nice to look at nonetheless.  I found something similar to this scarf on Pinterest, and one woman’s efforts to recreate on a realistic budget.  All you need is a scarf, a paint product and a message you find inspiring.  The pin suggested Tee Juice and I found it online in tons of colors and I went to World Market for a scarf.  Some people might find it cheesy but I absolutely love this quote by Wilferd Peterson, and I’m inspired by it:

“Walk with the dreamers, the believers, the courageous, the cheerful, the planners, the doers, the successful people with their heads in the clouds and their feet on the ground. Let their spirit ignite a fire within you to leave this world better than when you found it…”

DSC_0879

Unfortuately, there’s not much practice that can be done on this project unless you plan on ruining your clothes.  You’ve got one shot to make it right or mess it up.  And of course, nothing I make ever comes out perfect.  But sometimes that’s the beauty of a handmade gift, right?  I wish I had been able to “map it out” a little better because I started making the letters huge and I forgot how long the quote was.  Oops.  So the words get smaller and smaller, and the lines aren’t straight BUT when she wears it I’m not sure anyone will notice.  It’ll be pretty illegible at that point.  Ultimately, this pin is a good one, but the ability to practice would have been great.   Tee Juice is a great product too, and I would suggest it for similar projects.  Just make sure to use something behind the fabric because the paint does bleed.

DSC_1070

Happy Pinning…and Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

