Here’s to 2014

Standard

Happy New Year guys!  I hope you had a great time celebrating the start of the year ahead with some of your favorite people.  I know I did, but I’ve only got the greatest set of friends on the planet.  I’m really looking forward to 2014 but this year has huge shoes to fill if it’s going to top 2013.  I have so many special memories to look back on!

I’ve done so many things I never thought I would do.  I ziplined, I attended my first college football game, I made it a point to pay it forward, and I took a different promotion at work in the hopes of growing as a person, peer, and nurse.  So many things I tried were completely out of my comfort zone, like this blog for example.  I was afraid nobody would read my blog.  I was afraid people would read my blog and hate the shit out of it.  I was afraid people would think I was an ass for expecting them to read it.  And then I was like, DUH, I want people to read it, and of course people think I want them to read it.  Otherwise I would be writing in a diary.  Hellooooooo.

But you guys have surprised me, by taking any interest in this blawg at all.  Some of you are tried and true friends, some of you are new friends trying to figure me out, some of you are strangers.  Whoever you are, I thank you for reading and I hope you’ll keep coming back in 2014.  I also have to thank you for helping me keep up with my New Year’s Resolutions.  Since I posted it all on the blog, I  assumed someone would know if I couldn’t complete my resolution and I was held accountable.

So just to recap the past year I did something for someone else and something I’ve never done at least once a month.  Here’s what it looked like:

January:  I took my first solitary road trip & I made a memory box for a new nurse and old friend

February:  I first experience with sushi &  I made a  batch of cupcakes for Valentine’s Day to show my coworkers how much I love them

March:  I went on my first zipline tour & I helped make breakfast for my bride-friend and fellow maids on the big day

April:  I tried a new recipe once a week & I donated all my old bridesmaid/prom dresses

May:  I played the Powerball lottery (and lost) & I sponsored a friend in her megatriathalon

June: I painted pottery for the first time & I bought a cookbook as a Creative Pay it Forward gift

July:  I tried on (and bought) my first pair of cowboy boots & I found an obscure concert T-Shirt for D

August:  I had my first experience at a tattoo shop & I gifted a tattoo to my friend for a job well done

September: For the first time ever, I celebrated a cancer diagnosis & I threw a party for my coworkers and friend

October:  I attended my first Pearl Jam concert & I helped throw a 40th birthday party for a friend

November: I actually worked up the courage to karaoke & I made a scarf for a friend’s Creative Pay it Forward Gift

December:  I made my first donation to the Second Harvest Food Bank & I helped throw a party for a friend’s 30th.

I’m hoping for Resolution Success in 2014 too.  This year, I want to focus on taking care of myself…physically, emotionally, and mentally.  I’m really lucky that I am healthy and well, but that’s fleeting…and I know it.  I figured I need to start trying to maintain what I’ve been blessed with.  Now this isn’t your typical, “I’m going to join a gym and I’m gonna lose weight!!” kind of resolution so don’t misunderstand me.  Although D has joined a gym and I plan to go with him and I’m not thrilled about it.  This is a, “go get your eyes checked-use the massage voucher you got two years ago on your birthday-drink more water-run in your running shoes-slow down and smell the roses-don’t fill every second of your life with something to do” kind of resolution.  Wish me luck!  I hope you too, are successful in obtaining your goals for 2014.  Happy New Year!

IMG_4468

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

