Guest Bedroom Paintings

Standard

I need a lot of projects in this little life of mine but sometimes I think I come up with new projects just to distract me from the more daunting projects I need to complete.  Does that make sense?  Sometimes you’re all gung ho with grand plans in the beginning but then you quickly discover maybe it requires more than you’re capable of?

I started my guest bedroom overhaul more than a year ago but I have stalled out since.  I found the bedding, sheets, curtains and all those decorative pretty things but when it comes to actually doing work I haven’t found much motivation.  The projects I aim to complete take a lot of skill and I’m not sure I’m ready.  For example, I got this awesome wingback chair and this incredible fabric that just spoke to my doggone soul.  I enlisted the help of a friend and we spent more hours than I’m willing to admit pulling out upholstery staples.  And that’s pretty much where I am right now.  I’ve got a naked wingback taking up space and this expensive fabric I’m too afraid to cut for fear of messing it up.  Then I bought a beautiful emerald green quilt with the hopes of making an upholstered headboard with nailhead trim.  And that’s pretty much where I am right now, with a quilt and nothing more.

My motivation has also suffered because when I have put forth effort, it didn’t turn out like I wanted.  I wanted dark gray walls and it turned out wrong.  I wanted colorful lampshades but they’re competing with my colorful bedding and they’ve turned out wrong too.  Ugh.  So that will have to be corrected.  I found a blog that gave some really pretty examples of bedside table styling though, I went to work on a “distraction project.”  I have finished one of the art pieces, and I think I’m happy with it.

DSC_1109

I found a picture of a rose I liked and had D draw it for me on this canvas.  I found the most perfect set of watercolors and started painting.

DSC_1116

I haven’t painted in a month of Sundays and I think you can tell.  I also think you can tell I did it at 4AM when I wasn’t able to sleep but, whatever.  I’m not unhappy with it for a first time effort.  Inspired by Pinterest, I used puff paint to cover the pencil marks and make it look a little different.  And here’s how it turned out:

DSC_0656

Happy Homemaking to you, and keep your fingers crossed that I can find the motivation to keep it moving!

Leave a Reply

