Eat in!

Standard

Sometimes, cooking in just will not do.  Either you’re tired or uninspired or craving something you cannot replicate in your kitchen.  I get it, I totally binged on Chinese food the other day.  But with all this gym going and the reintroduction of apps into my life that calculate my caloric intake and nutrition…eating out just isn’t looking all that great.

I had made some easy decisions at the beginning of the year that would impact me at work: I was absolutely not going to eat from the cafeteria unless I had to since everything served to nightshifters is deep-fried and fabulous, I was not going to partake in the fresh doughnut train as it made its way through my unit (which is just about every other day), I was going to pay attention to my fluid intake since I hardly drink anything while working, and I wasn’t going to eat any vending machine treats (a dang Air Head takes more than a 1/2 mile on the elliptical to work off!).  All that was great but then there’s the other battle: if you don’t put any thought into your meals for work you end up packing your lunch and eating for convenience.  That’s almost as bad as all the rest of the things I was trying to avoid.

Truthfully, I would like to attempt some “skinny recipes” too.  But for now, I’m just focusing on increasing cooking and preparing food at home.  Now I’m not about to suggest that this recipe is a healthy option…but it’s certainly not the worst thing for you if you compare it to what you might consume outside your kitchen.  It’s simple and quick and has very few ingredients and that’s perfect.

Rosemary and Dijon Chicken          

DSC_0678

Ingredients:

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/2 cup dijon mustard

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

rosemary

Directions:

Mix mustard, syrup and vinegar together.  In a greased dish, place chicken breasts and season with salt and pepper (minimal salt, lots of pepper).  Pour the mustard mixture over the top of the chicken, coating each piece.  Bake for 35 minutes at 425 degrees.  Add chopped rosemary ( I only used 1/8 of a cup) over the top of each piece of chicken and bake an additional 10 minutes.  Serve warm!

This recipe was husband approved, and that doesn’t happen often with these internet-Pinterest recipes.  I will say though, to use the rosemary sparingly…it’s potent.  Happy cooking yall!

Leave a Reply

