Adventures in Healthy

Standard

Like I mentioned before, eating in doesn’t always sound so appealing.  When you compare it to the probable sabotage of eating out though, you might be like me and want to find a way to make it work.  Now,  I’m no foodie and I do not have a refined palate.  I’m good to eat a chicken sandwich for dinner from now until kingdom come.  But I figure if I’m going to try to cook some healthy options at home and expect my husband to eat, I’m going to have to venture out of my comfort zone.

So my workout partner, Erin, and I discussed “freezer meals” in an effort to have real food to eat while at work and attempting some healthier recipes in the process.  It was an all day marathon of selecting our recipes, making our list, shopping at 3 different stores, making our dinner, two snacks, and four freezer dinners.  It remains to be seen if all these recipes will be edible…I don’t have much hope for any kind of sauce made from cauliflower but we’ll see.

But right off the bat, we do know there are a couple of recipes that are winners.  Erin really wanted to try these no-bake energy bites.  They remind me of those no-bake cookies I have made in the past.  You know the ones….2 cups of sugar, a ton of butter, cocoa, oatmeal.  Yeah, they’re delicious.  Delicious and terrible for you.  Cue the energy bites.  I could certainly eat those and not feel like I cheated myself out of what I wanted.  And not in that, “I wanted something sweet so I settled for this thing instead, but now my craving really hasn’t subsided because my substitute was no real substitute” sort of way.  Like, it’s a real substitute and can satisfy whatever craving you’re having.

DSC_0702

Ingredients:

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

1 cup sweetened coconut flakes

1/2 cup ground flaxseed

1/2 mini chocolate chips

1 tsp vanilla flavoring

Directions:

Combine all ingredients and mix thoroughly.  Roll into bite-size balls and store in the refrigerator.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

